Phuoc Kien Assembly Hall, located at 46 Tran Phu Street, was founded in 1690 and served the largest Chinese ethnic group in Hoi An (the Fujian). It contains the Jinshang golden mountain temple and is dedicated to Thien Hau, the goddess of the sea and protector of the sailors. The pagoda is also a place of gathering for the natives of Phuoc Kien. You must visit this assembly hall to discover an excellent work of architecture, also considered a heritage of historical significance.
Originally, the house was a thatched pagoda called Kim Son, which was built by Viet people living in Hoi An in 1692. The pagoda was dedicated to Buddha. Over the course of time it was damaged, and in 1759 the owners had to sell it to the rich Phuoc Kien traders from China who came to Hoi An, so that it could be restored. After the restoration, the pagoda was renamed "Phuoc Kien Assembly Hall".
Due to restorations and support by the Fukien people, the Assembly hall became resplendent and spacious, taking part in the embellishment of Hoi An’s architecture. Arranging the statues for worshiping means “human happiness”, and it profoundly expresses the oriental philosophy. The Assembly Hall is in fact a temple that holds the sea goddess Thien Hau, the goddess Thuan Phong Nhi, who is able to listen to the sound of a ship even at a distance of thousand miles, and at last the goddess Thien Ly Nhan, who is able to see those distant ships.
There are lots of animal symbols in the design and architecture of the Fukian Assembly Hall (Phuc Kien). The mosaic fountain inside the assembly hall bears a fish sculpture that is a symbol of achievement. Besides the fish, there are other animals such as dragon, unicorn, phoenix, turtle and so on. All these animals signify different features of the Chinese culture. The dragon is the symbol of power and the turtle signifies endurance. On the other hand the unicorn is a symbol of knowledge and the phoenix represents nobility.